In Memory of Coach Ryan Hanson


Since 1925, The American Legion has sponsored a nationwide youth baseball program. During these past seven decades, millions of young players have enjoyed playing baseball. The American Legion and their 2.8 million members have raised millions of dollars each year for players to learn the importance of teamwork, discipline, leadership and good sportsmanship. The American Legion sponsors American Legion Baseball to give players an opportunity to develop their skills, personal fitness, leadership qualities and to have fun.

The Post 59 team was originally sponsored by Kentucky Fried Chicken for 35 years.   The current era began with State Championships in 1992, 1993, and 1994 when the team was led by current manager Alex Gaynes.  Post 59 took up the sponsorship when the KFC franchises were sold, and is currently the home of the 9 time State Champions.

Long time Coach, Alex Gaynes is entering a retirement and transition stage.  The team will be taken over by master coaches, father and son combo, Mike and Ryan Hanson.  The Post 59 team will become a part of the Hanson’s “Dirt Bag” baseball program.  The team will have an official name of the Post 59 (KFC) Dirtbags, in recognition of the great contributions by the post, KFC and now the Hanson’s baseball program.


The team will continue to play the toughest possible schedule, and will continue its mission to teach the precepts of American Legion Baseball to subsequent generations of ball players.


More than 300 former players have played college baseball.  More than 50 have been drafted by MLB teams, a number have played in the major leagues, and more than 30 currently coach Little League Baseball, HS Baseball (including Mike Hanson), and College Baseball.   But more importantly, a generation of great American Citizens have played ball with the team.


2013 Baseball Schedule

Arizona State Legion Baseball Site

National Legion Baseball Site

2000-State Champions

2002-State Runners up

2003-State Runners up

2004-State Champions

2005-State Champions

2006-State Champions

2008-State Runners up

2009-State Champions

2011-State Champions